You are here

College Hockey Realignment

Submitted by da HOOK on 13 July, 2011 - 17:21

With all the changes in college hockey, where will things end?

What we know about the 2013-14 season so far:
Big Ten: Minnesota(-Twin Cities), Wisconsin(-Madison), Michigan, Michigan State, Ohio State, Penn State
NCHC: North Dakota, Nebraska-Omaha, Colorado College, Denver, Minn.-Duluth, Miami

WCHA: Alaska-Anchorage, MSU-Mankato, St Cloud St, Northern Mich., Mich. Tech, Bemidji St.

Speculation has Alaska(-Fairbanks) and possibly Lake Superior State moving to the WCHA. If Notre Dame and Western Michigan move to the NCHC, that would leave only Bowling Green and Ferris State in the CCHA. If they also move to the WCHA (a complete WCHA-CCHA merger), the WCHA would then have 10 teams. Air Force (Colorado Springs in Atlantic Hockey?) and Alabama-Huntsville might possibly be interested if the WCHA decides to stay at 12. (Divisions: WCHA : UAA, UAF, MSU-Mkt, StC, Bemidji, AFA ; CCHA : NMU, MTU, LSSU, FeSU, BGSU, UAH)

Assuming none of the (other) Eastern teams move or drop Men's hockey, that would leave conferences of 8,6, and 12 in the west, with 10, 12, and 11 in the east.